Detailed Breakup of The Formations:

The ‘abstract’ of formations with ‘detailed break up from Preventive Post up’ are as hereunder: Abstract of Formations:

Sl.No Name of the formation Number of formations
1 Divisions 08
2 Land Customs Stations 25 (functional)

10 (Non functional)

3 Preventive formations 01 (Hqrs. Anti Smuggling Unit)08 (Divisional Anti smuggling Units)27 (Customs Preventive Force)

11 (Preventive Posts)

4 International Airport 01
5 ICD 01
6 Export Extension Counter 01


To effectively control this vast area this Commissionerate is divided into eight divisions located at the following states for effective control over the entire North Eastern region:

  Name of the Division Jurisdiction
i Agartala Entire State of Tripura except North Tripura
ii Aizawl Entire State of Mizoram
iii Dhubri Dhubri, Bongaigaon, Goalpara, Kokrajhar and Barpeta Districts of western AssamWest, East and South Garo Hills Districts of Meghalaya.
iv Dimapur Entire State of NagalandKarbi Anglong, Golaghat, Jorhat, Sibsagar, Tinsukia, Dibrugarh Districts of South-Western Assam along with parts of Nagaon District of Central AssamLohit, Changlang and Tirap Districts of Eastern Arunachal Pradesh
v Guwahati Kamrup, Nalbari, Sonitpur, Darranga, Marigaon, Lakhimpur, Dhemaji Districts along with parts of Nagaon and Karbi Anglong Districts of Assam.Tawang, West Kameng, East Kameng, Upper Subansiri, Lower Subansiri, West Siang, Upper Siang, East Siang, Dibang Valley and Lower Dibang Valley Districts of Arunachal Pradesh
vi Imphal Entire State of Manipur
vii Karimganj Hailakandi, Karimganj & Cachar Districts of southern Assam along with parts of North Cachar Hills District of central AssamTripura North District of Tripura
viii Shillong East Khasi Hills District, Ri-Bhoi District, Jaintia            Hills District and West Khasi Hills District of       Meghalaya